Top > In the News... > Professional Development Opportunity for Teachers in the Polar Regions

Professional Development Opportunity for Teachers in the Polar Regions

by , posted on 10:40 AM, September 13, 2016
PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from both teachers and researchers for teacher research experiences. Teachers are invited to submit an application to participate in field research learning experiences during the 2017 (usually Arctic) or 2017-18 (usually Antarctic) field seasons.

 

Now Accepting Applications from Teachers AND Researchers

PolarTREC 2017-2018
PolarTREC: Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S.
Application Deadline: Monday, 10 October 2016 by 5PM Alaska Daylight Time
For further information and application instructions, go to: https://www.polartrec.com/about/application
Or, contact PolarTREC at info@polartrec.com

--------------------
PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from both teachers and researchers for teacher research experiences. Teachers are invited to submit an application to participate in field research learning experiences during the 2017 (usually Arctic) or 2017-18 (usually Antarctic) field seasons. Researchers are encouraged to submit an application to host a teacher during the 2017-2018 field seasons.

More information and application forms for both teachers and researchers are available at:

https://www.polartrec.com/about/application

ABOUT PolarTREC
PolarTREC, a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS), is a professional development program for educators, which pairs teachers with researchers to improve science education through authentic polar research experiences. The program integrates research and education to produce a legacy of long-term teacher-researcher collaborations, improved teacher content knowledge and instructional practices, and broad public interest and engagement in polar science. PolarTREC teachers will spend three to eight weeks in the Arctic or Antarctic, working closely with researchers in the field as an integral part of the science team. While in the field, teachers and researchers will communicate extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all ages across the globe using a variety of tools including online journals, photos, other multimedia, and web-based seminars.

FUNDING
PolarTREC is funded by the National Science Foundation and administered by the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States. Final selections for the 2017-2018 program are pending funding. Applicants will be notified about final funding status.

APPLICATION PERIOD
The application period for teachers and researchers to apply to participate in PolarTREC is on Monday, 12 September 2016 and ends Monday, 10 October 2016 at 5:00 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time.

POLARTREC INFORMATIONAL WEBINAR
Interested teachers and researchers are encouraged to participate in a PolarTREC informational webinar (web seminar), scheduled for Monday, 19 September 2016; 2:30 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time [3:30 p.m. PDT, 4:30 p.m. MDT, 5:30 p.m. CDT, 6:30 p.m. EDT]

For further information and to register to participate, please go to: https://www.polartrec.com/about/informational-webinar
Instructions will be sent to all registered participants. Participation in the webinar is free, optional, and is not a prerequisite for applying to the PolarTREC program.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and frequently asked questions, is available at: http://www.polartrec.com