Top > In the News... > Now Accepting Applications: PolarTREC Teachers 2014-2015

Now Accepting Applications: PolarTREC Teachers 2014-2015

posted on 10:48 AM, August 26, 2013
PolarTREC (Teachers and Researchers Exploring and Collaborating) is currently accepting applications from teachers for the eighth year of teacher research experiences. Teachers are invited to submit an application to participate in field research learning experiences during the 2014 (usually Arctic) or 2014-2015 (usually Antarctic) field seasons.

More information and application forms are available at: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers/application/2014

 

ABOUT PolarTREC:

PolarTREC—a program of the Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)—is a professional development program for educators, which pairs teachers with researchers to improve science education through authentic polar research experiences. The program integrates research and education to produce a legacy of long-term teacher-researcher collaborations, improved teacher content knowledge and instructional practices, and broad public interest and engagement in polar science. 

PolarTREC teachers will spend three to eight weeks in the Arctic or Antarctic, working closely with researchers in the field as an integral part of the science team. PolarTREC teachers and researchers will be matched based on similar goals and interests, and teachers will be trained to meet the program requirements prior to the field season. While in the field, teachers and researchers will communicate extensively with their colleagues, communities, and students of all ages across the globe, using a variety of tools including online journals, photos, other multimedia, and web-based seminars. 

Teachers and research projects will be selected and matched to fill the approximately 12-14 openings available. All major expenses associated with teacher participation in PolarTREC field experiences are covered by the program and program partners, including transportation to and from the field site, food, lodging, and substitute teacher costs.

Past PolarTREC grants were funded by the National Science Foundation. Final selection and program implementation is contingent on funding approval for 2014-15 field season.

APPLICATION PERIOD

The application period for researchers to apply to participate in PolarTREC will begin on Monday, 26 August 2013 and end Monday, 16 September 2013.

POLARTREC INFORMATIONAL WEBINAR

Interested teachers are encouraged to participate in a PolarTREC informational webinar (web seminar), scheduled for Tuesday, 3 September, at 3:30 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time (4:30 p.m. PDT, 5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT, 7:30 p.m. EDT).

 

For further information and to register to participate, please go to: http://www.polartrec.com/about/teacher-webinar

Instructions will be sent to all registered participants. Participation in the webinar is free, optional, and is not a prerequisite for applying to the PolarTREC program.

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Further information about PolarTREC, including program goals, requirements, and frequently asked questions, is available at: http://www.polartrec.com/teachers

 

Or contact PolarTREC:
Email: info@polartrec.com
Phone:
907-474-1600