| Join MnSTA    |   


Time to Recognize Great Teachers 

Do you believe that classroom teachers should be rewarded for excellence?

Do you want our best teachers to represent our profession to the public?

Do you know exemplary science teachers in your school or district?


Then nominate a colleague (or yourself) for the.......

MnSTA Science Teaching Award


Award for Elementary Science Teaching

Award for Secondary School Science Teaching

Each awardee will be recognized as part of the MnSTA Conference in November and will receive a $1,000 grant for use in his/her classroom.  The deadline is October 7, 2020.

Use our Nomination forms to suggest a candidate (or yourself!) and this application packet here.


 ........Or the


Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching   


Award for elementary mathematics and science teaching (including computer science)  

for  grades K-6: 2020

Award for secondary mathematics and science teaching (including computer science)  

for grades 7-12: 2021

  • Two state Awardees (usually one math and one science) receive awardee activities in Washington DC, usually with a White House reception, and a cash award of $10,000. They also receive state recognition and leadership opportunities. The nomination deadline is April 1st and the application deadline is May 1st.


Information, Nominations and Applications are at www.paemst.org

For questions about the Presidential Awards, contact  651-582-8673

For questions about the MnSTA Awards, contact , Awards Coordinator at 612-308-6148


 Other Award Opportunities:

The National Science Teachers Association has teacher awards at http://www.nsta.org/about/awards.aspx

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards provides nationally recognized certification, including Early Adolescence Science (ages 11-15) and Adolescence and Young Adulthood Science (ages 14-18+). http://www.nbpts.org/national-board-certification.



Minnesota Awardees


2019 MnSTA Science Teaching Awardee (Secondary)

Laura Unterholzner of Rochester Century High School


2019 Presidential Award in Science Recipient (Secondary)

Eric Friberg, biology teacher, Henry Sibley High School, Mendota Heights


2018 MnSTA Science Teaching Awardees

Carrie Ehn, School of Engineering and Arts, Golden Valley

Nora Gathje, Chatfield High School, Chatfield


2018 Presidential Award in Science Awardee (Elementary)

David McGill of Capitol Hill Elementary, St. Paul


2017 MnSTA Science Teaching Awardees

Kelli Ellickson, Cedar Park Elementary STEM School, Apple Valley

Phil Sinner, Renville County West High School, Renville





2017 Presidential Award in Science Awardee (Secondary)

Stacey Bartlett, Stillwater High School, Stillwater