The Minnesota Science Teachers Association
Join MnSTA   |   Site Map   |   

Top > In the News... > Presidential Award winners in Math and Science Teaching Announced

Presidential Award winners in Math and Science Teaching Announced

by , posted on 6:24 PM, August 22, 2016
Congratulation to Frances Stang and Lisa Houdek who have been recognized by the White House for their outstanding teaching of science.
The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.
Presidential Awardees receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.
Congratulations to the Minnesota science winners Frances Stang and Lisa Houdek!
Frances Stang is the fifth grade lead science teacher at O.H. Anderson Elementary School in Mahtomedi Minnesota. Read more about her at
Lisa Houdek teaches Physical Science and AP Environmental Science at Central Senior High School in St. Paul MInnesota. Read more about her at