MnSTA Collected Science Links

We have something here for whatever science you teach!

All links are organized by category.

Top > Earth Science > Environment

Environment

Web Resource

CLEANet.org - https://cleanet.org/index.html

CLEAN: Climate Literacy & Energy Awareness Network

A collection of 700+ free, ready-to-use learning resources rigorously reviewed by educators and scientists suitable for secondary through higher education classrooms.

Climate Change Resource - https://priweb.org/index.php/pubs-special/pubs-spec-5813-detail
Glenn Branch, National Center for Science Education has been reviewing the continuing reaction to climate change change denial propaganda campaign aimed at teachers. 
 
One publication from the Paleontological Research Institution is titled The Teacher-Friendly Guide to Climate Change
 
It was published April 2017 and a PDF may be reviewed as well as down-loaded if you want a print copy.
Climate Generation: A Will Steger Legacy - http://www.climategen.org

Climate Generation: A Will Steger Legacy is a nationally connected and trusted nonprofit dedicated to climate literacy, climate change education, youth leadership and citizen engagement for innovative climate change solutions.

Environmental Science - https://www.environmentalscience.org

EnvironmentalScience.org's mission is to be the most reliable and expansive advocate for environmental science education and careers.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions Standards in the United States - https://lawshelf.com/videos/entry/greenhouse-gas-emissions-standards-in-the-united-states

This webpage describes Greenhouse Gas Emission Standards for vehicles in the US under the law.

 

Guidebook to Sustainable Cities - http://www.letsgosolar.com/consumer-education/sustainable-cities/
Kidwind Project - https://www.kidwind.org/

KidWind has been helping students and teachers learn about wind energy for 15 years.

Letsgosolar - http://www.letsgosolar.com/consumer-education/global-warming/
The impacts of global warming can feel overwhelming, but with the right resources and information everyone can make a positive difference for the future. The LetsGoSolar.com team and I have created a practical guide that spells out the challenges we face and gives actionable ideas for curbing climate change.
NOAA Professional Development - https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/education/pd/welcome.html

Teachers need accurate information and resources to integrate ocean, coastal, and climate science into local and state curricula. These resources provide a variety of lesson plans, background information, resource links, tutorials, archived professional development seminars, media galleries, and interactive tools that can be used in a variety of ways in grades 5-12. Many of the resources provided here were created in partnership with the National Science Teachers Association. Teachers can access resources in additional topics at the NSTA Learning Center site, http://learningcenter.nsta.org.

Solar Panels in Minnesota - http://www.letsgosolar.com/solar-panels/minnesota/
Student's Guide to Global Warming - http://www.letsgosolar.com/consumer-education/global-warming/
Understanding Climate Change and Solar Energy - http://www.letsgosolar.com/consumer-education/climate-change-solar/
University of Illinois Extension - http://web.extension.illinois.edu/state/energy/index.php

The University of Illinois Extension has many resources for all ages such as Riding the Winds with Kalani and Shake, Rattle and Slide

 

Water Science for Schools - http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/
 
Watersheds - http://hawp.org/what-is-a-watershed/

Ralph S. Hosmer, First Terrestrial Forester, Hawaii once said,  "In Hawai'i, the most valuable product of the forest is water, not wood."

The Hawaii Association of Watershed Partnerships  website includes information on what a watershed is, why watersheds matter, a gallery of images, and linkages between forested watersheds and Native Hawaiian cultural resources.

Hosmer's quote is one of those that makes you think.

Missing link? Suggest a web resource.